Becoming a Vegetarian

Being veggie has been something I’ve wanted to do for a couple of years now, so I finally decided to take the plunge last September when moving back to university for my final year. At the moment I am still pescetarian, but plan on ditching the fish in the next week or so.IMG_20150122_190307(Cooking with mama – real vs. fake chicken in a stir fry. The confusion caused by going home to a meat-eating family.)

Not eating meat has actually been surprisingly easy, considering I’ve eaten meat for the first twenty years of my life and until the last three or four never considered giving it up. I don’t miss or crave meat at all. The only problem I’ve really encountered has been deciding what to have for lunch, especially when I am out (usually in the library or grabbing a meal deal from Boots), because the only veggie option when it comes to sandwiches appears to be cheese, or cheese.

My aim is to eventually become vegan, and I am already putting in the time to research and try out vegan beauty products. It is time consuming and can get pretty frustrating, but I know it will be worth it in the end when I can finally say that I’m not using any products that animals have suffered to make. I have, however, just discovered this fab website that I know is going to be very helpful: <http://www.logicalharmony.net/how-to-find-out-if-products-are-animal-friendly/#axzz3PqgduWhi&gt;

Transitioning to veganism will realistically take some time, especially as I’m currently on a student budget. If you want something bad enough, though, you’ve got to go for it. One of my many new mottos.. I make myself cringe, but it’s also necessary to keep myself going.

Leave a Reply

